On August 1, 2016, the “Campus Carry” law – Senate Bill 11 passed by the 84th Texas Legislature and signed by Gov. Greg Abbott — took effect at ݮƵ.

The ݮƵ regulations were approved by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents after extensive consultation with faculty, staff, and students. The rules conform to the new law while supporting ݮƵ’s educational mission, protecting the rights of citizens, and promoting the safety and security of the university community.

Facts about the Law

The law does NOT allow open carry on campus.

SB 11 deals only with the concealed carry of handguns by people who have a concealed carry license. It is now — and will still be — illegal to display a firearm in campus buildings, or on campus streets, sidewalks, walkways, etc.

A person must have a license to carry a concealed handgun on campus.

SB 11 authorizes concealed campus carry only by “license holders,” that is, people who received the state-mandated training and met other statutory requirements for a license to carry a concealed handgun.

One must be 18 to obtain a license to carry.

Based on recent changes which occurred on December 21, 2022, the minimum age for obtaining a license to carry a concealed handgun was reduced from age 21 to age 18.

License holders have been allowed to carry concealed handguns on campus (but not in buildings) for 20 years.

Since 1995, the law has allowed license holders to carry concealed handguns on campus. The inability to carry concealed handguns into campus buildings no doubt limited the number of people carrying concealed handguns on campus.

The law still makes it a crime for a license holder to carry a concealed handgun while intoxicated.

This is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail. Police officers may act upon any trace of alcoholic consumption.

Contacts for General Campus Carry Questions:

Chief Matt Welch
Chief, University Police Department
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (254) 968-9001

Kent Styron
Assistant Vice ݮƵ, University Compliance
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (254) 968-9415

Know Your Rights

Texas Senate Bill 273 permits the state to fine ݮƵ State University if it attempts, by utilizing a Penal Code 30.06 notice, to prohibit a concealed handgun license holder from carrying a concealed handgun in a place not prohibited by sections 46.03 or 46.035 of the Penal Code. In other words, unless existing state law prohibits carrying a concealed handgun in a location, a state agency cannot bar carrying a concealed handgun at the location. The fine can be $1,500 per day for the first offense, and can be as high as $10,500 per day for a second or subsequent offense. If you have a complaint related to SB 273, please contact Amy Browder, Manager for People and Culture. 

If ݮƵ State University does not remove the sign within three (3) days, citizens may file a complaint with the Texas Attorney General’s Office to investigate the matter and enforce the law. If you believe a political subdivision is unlawfully posting 30.06 signs and you have already filed a complaint with that entity, you may call The Texas Attorney General’s 30.06 Hotline at 1-844-584-3006, or 

Amy Browder
Manager, People and Culture
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (254) 968-9529


Who has the authority to ask an employee who is carrying a concealed weapon if they have the appropriate permit?

A handgun license holder is not required to disclose that he/she has a license to anyone except a magistrate or peace officer, including university police. A person engaged in lawful activity (i.e., applying for and obtaining a handgun license) is not required to provide information to any person, including a university official, about their personal choices, beliefs or practices.

Can an appointing authority or supervisor request a list of employees who have received a concealed carry permit?

No. This information is not a matter of public record.

What responsibility does a concealed carry permit holder have to keep their weapon absolutely concealed? Are they violating the terms of their permit if someone gets a glimpse of their weapon?

A person with a concealed carry permit must take reasonable measures to conceal the weapon. For example, if a person’s coat opens in the act of raising his/her arm to ask a question and a gun can be seen, it is not a violation. A violation would be a person taking a gun out of concealment or otherwise displaying/brandishing it.

Can I personally make a rule that someone who has a license to carry a handgun cannot carry into my office, classroom, or laboratory?

No. Effective August 1, 2016, concealed carry is allowed on university campuses, including all offices, classrooms, and laboratories by anyone holding a valid handgun license, unless carrying a handgun is prohibited by state law, federal law or university rules. SB 273 prohibits the university and its employees from imposing restrictions greater than those imposed by law. Violations of SB 273 can result in a fine to the university as high as $10,500 per day.

Are guns allowed in residence halls?

A person who has obtained a concealed carry license can carry legally within residential facilities. The university has established a policy for safe storage of handguns in residential facilities.

Are guns allowed in classrooms or at sporting events?

Classrooms have not been restricted from concealed carry under the university rules and regulations. All collegiate sporting events and UIL sporting and interscholastic competitions will be posted as gun-free zones during the competitions.

What if I feel threatened?

Anyone who feels threatened should call the University Police or Emergency 911.

How do I know if my classmates or students have guns?

If an LTC holder is in compliance with the law, you should be unaware that the individual has a gun. The law prohibits licensed holders from carrying a handgun that is partially or wholly visible, or displaying the handgun intentionally and knowingly in plain view of another person.

Will faculty and staff be allowed to carry guns?

Any individual who holds a current and valid concealed handgun license (CHL) may carry a concealed handgun where permitted on university property.

How does the Open Carry law affect the Campus Carry law?

Open Carry is not permitted on university property. The Campus Carry law applies to all land and buildings owned or leased by an institution of higher education. Violators of the Campus Carry law will be subject to gun confiscation, legal action and possible revocation of their LTC by state authorities.

What if I see someone with a gun?

Contact campus police. The police will respond and make contact with an individual to determine if that person has a LTC and is carrying the weapon legally and if the handgun became unconcealed inadvertently. A person with a handgun license must take reasonable measures to conceal the weapon. For example, if a person’s coat opens in the act of raising his/her arm to ask a question and a handgun can be seen, it is not a violation. A violation would be a person taking a gun out of concealment or otherwise displaying/brandishing it.

What does it mean to “brandish” a weapon? If a student or employee is brandishing a weapon, what actions should be taken?

“Brandishing” is displaying a weapon in a threatening manner. If you see anyone brandishing a weapon, call the Police at “911” immediately and take precautions to protect yourself — evacuate the area or retreat behind a locked door.

Will the university track handgun license holders on campus?

No, the names of individuals obtaining a license to carry is not public record.

Will the new Constitutional Carry enacted under House Bill 1927 affect our campus?

Texas A&M’s Office of General Council has issued guidance that Constitutional Carry does not apply on campus and defer to the Campus Carry laws that directly govern firearms on public universities.

Additional Information and Resources